Panini For Beginners

I guess we can say that I am the jack of all trades, master of none. Not that I have not mastered different things in which I have learned to do, I guess I have just yet to commit to one thing that I am good at.

Something that I have always felt defeated by is cooking/baking. I have always struggled in this department due to my lack of patience. I am a get it done kind of girl. I really like to get in, get out and get on with it. I have been trying to learn how to be patient, and the best way is through cooking and baking.

I have decided to pick recipes weekly and try them out, just to see how they turn out. I am someone that struggles to boil pasta, so let’s see how this goes.

My first recipe that I would like to share would be mini panini. This is something I have grown up on, whether it was at one of my nonna’s houses or from the bakery; I thrived on them. I decided to put myself up for the challenge and make these cute little things to see if I could do what nonna did. Although my panini looked quite different, they turned out great for a first timer!

I got the recipe from the Food Network and it happens to be from Emeril Lagasse. I felt like it was best suited for me after reading it. Although it is a recipe for a loaf of bread, I just shaped out little panini, instead of doing one whole loaf.

Recipe Link – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/basic-italian-bread-recipe/index.html

The result after kneading combined ingredients with hook attachment.
The result after kneading combined ingredients with hook attachment.
Knead dough on a surface that has been lightly floured.
Knead dough on a surface that has been lightly floured.
1. Place kneaded dough in a bowl that has been lined with olive oil, and oil the surface of the dough.  2. Place plastic wrap tightly around the bowl.  3. Lay a dish towel over the bowl, and leave for about 1.5 hours to let the dough rise.
1. Place kneaded dough in a bowl that has been lined with olive oil, and oil the surface of the dough.
2. Place plastic wrap tightly around the bowl.
3. Lay a clean dish towel over the bowl, and leave for about 1.5 hours to let the dough rise.
After 1.5 hours the dough is ready. Take the plastic wrap of, flour a surface of the counter and knead the dough a bit more.
After 1.5 hours the dough is ready. Take the plastic wrap off, flour a surface of the counter and knead the dough a bit more.
1. Shape mini panini with your hand, then score the top with a knife.  2. Lightly beat an egg white and brush over the tops of the ready to bake panini.
1. Shape mini panini with your hands, then score the top with a knife.
2. Lightly beat an egg white and brush over the tops of the ready to bake panini.
After about 25 minutes your panini are ready!
After about 25 minutes of baking your panini are ready!

Two Things To Do With A Fresh Panino

1. Cut it open and drizzle olive oil, sprinkle salt and oregano on it.
2. Grab some fresh ricotta cheese and make a ricotta sandwich.

Leave a Reply

